• Afhalen na 2 uur in een winkel met voorraad
  • Gratis thuislevering in België vanaf € 25
  • Ruim aanbod met meer dan 10 miljoen producten
  • Afhalen na 2 uur in een winkel met voorraad
  • Gratis thuislevering in België vanaf € 25
  • Ruim aanbod met meer dan 10 miljoen producten

The Quick

Lauren Owen
Paperback | Engels
€ 21,45
+ 42 punten
Uitvoering
Eenvoudig bestellen
Veilig betalen
Gratis thuislevering vanaf € 25 (via bpost)
Gratis levering in je Standaard Boekhandel

Omschrijving

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE - Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London


1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.

In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

"A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."--Kate Atkinson

"A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction."--Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life

"A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."--The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice)

"The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing."--The Dallas Morning News

"The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."--The Economist

"A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."--Tana French, author of In the Woods

"A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day."--Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on."--O: The Oprah Magazine

"A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre."--Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall

"A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what's here with what's beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does."--Slate

"[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens's London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own."--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Specificaties

  • Productcode (EAN): 9780812983432
  • Verschijningsdatum: 24/02/2015
  • Aantal bladzijden: 560
  • Uitgeverij: Random House Trade
  • Auteur(s): Lauren Owen
  • Afmetingen: 133 mm x 203 mm
Toon meer
Standaard Boekhandel

Beoordelingen

We publiceren alleen reviews die voldoen aan de voorwaarden voor reviews. Bekijk onze voorwaarden voor reviews.

Uitgebreide specificaties

Betrokkenen

Inhoud

  • Aantal bladzijden: 560
  • Taal: Engels

Eigenschappen

  • Productcode (EAN): 9780812983432
  • Verschijningsdatum: 24/02/2015
  • Uitvoering: Paperback
  • Bestandsformaat: Trade paperback (VS)
  • Afmetingen: 133 mm x 203 mm
  • Gewicht: 408 g