• Gratis levering in België vanaf € 25
  • Altijd een winkel in je buurt
  • Afhalen na 30 minuten in een winkel met voorraad
  • Ruim aanbod met meer dan 10 miljoen producten
  • Winkels
  • Verlanglijstje
  • Winkelmandje


€ 17,99
+ 17 punten
Eenvoudig bestellen
Veilig betalen
Gratis thuislevering vanaf € 25
Gratis levering in je Standaard Boekhandel


Ottla is the new band of the sedulous singer, songwriter and guitarist Bert Dockx (Flying Horseman, Dans
Dans, Strand). File under: jazz, rock, psychedelia.
What started as a modest thought, an ambiguous plan to start playing jazz again, spiralled into an idiosyncratic
project with its very own identity. It became Ottla, Franz Kafka’s beloved sister’s surname, after whom the young
Dockx once christened a bicycle, and later his first band.Now, once again, Ottla is a band. And much more than a
nod to Dockx’s past forays in the world of improv, it’s a new and different beast; a unique hybrid of musical moods
and styles. Certainly not a casual exercise, but a very downright, vital sextet which was shaped and moulded under
the guise of its instigator, after a yearlong of blowing and kicking up dust in the rehearsal room.The outcome of said
year, the first album of Ottla, sounds playful, mysterious, sometimes fragile, occasionally brute, vexed, but always
exciting and intriguing. Bert dialled up producer and long-time collaborator Koen Gisen to capture the chemistry
and energy of Ottla in a potent, analogue production. Eight songs made it onto the self-titled debut, six original
compositions and two covers - one from Sun Ra, one from Thelonious Monk.The raw, blues-infected guitar, the
deliberate wandering through nocturnal detours, a soft spot for dissonant electronics… they’re all cornerstones of
Bert Dockx musical cosmos. But still Ottla gracefully pedals her own distinctive way, with clashing or harmonious
brass, two contending drummers, and brazenly roaring double bass.Jazz? Rock? Psychedelia? Something in
between or very much outside of it? It wholly depends on the listener. Or like Monk once said: ‘You're supposed to
know it when you hear it’.


1. Huisje tuintje
2. Spinrag
3. Stofwolk
4. Epistrophy
5. Je ne sens presque plus rien
6. Lights on a satellite
7. Etrange pursuite
8. Vroeger beter


  • Productcode (EAN): 5414165110026
  • Verschijningsdatum: 25/10/2019
  • Record label: UNDAY
  • Type: Audio
  • Uitgave: CD
Toon meer


Uitgebreide specificaties